h1

Leftovers

September 24, 2006


Leftovers
Originally uploaded by Mac Girl.

Mmmm, comfort food. For as long as I can remember my mother and my paternal grandmother took the extra trimmed pieces of pie crust dough and made crackers from them.

Me? I don’t fuss about shape or size, I just trim the extra dough off of the outer edges of the pie (or quiche, in this case), roll the strips out thin, cut them into roughly manageable sizes, sprinkle them with salt or a cinnamon/sugar mixture, and bake them for a few minutes at 350F.

I love these homemade crackers so much, and Duane has developed a taste for them also. It’s gotten to the point that I deliberately make a little more dough than my recipe calls for just to guarantee that we’ll have crackers to share while the pie bakes.

So use the Comments section and tell me what one of your favorite comfort foods is…

~Kate

2 comments

  1. SWEET! I never heard of such a thing 🙂


  2. I HIGHLY recommend it! It’s yummy and good!



Leave a Reply

