h1

Sentimental FREAK

October 4, 2006

So I’ve just read a funky Reuters article about the most popular songs played at modern funerals and it got me thinking about what I would want played.

I don’t think I’d go with the crowd on this one. I’d want one of my favorite songs played instead of a song that says “goodbye” for me in someone else’s words. Either that, or I’d want a song that sent a particular message to the people who I know and love who have gathered to wish me well.

In that case The Dave Matthews Band’s “#40” is it.

So, if I know you or knew you, if we’re friends, relations, pals, coworkers, or just coffee buddies, this is for you. And if they take requests at my funeral (may that be many, many, many years away!) please make sure they slip this into the play list. For me. From me.

Thanks,
~Katie

#40 Tables turned again and you my friend
You and I face each other all time and time again
I know it’s sometimes hard, but knowing just
that we will get along until we’re old and gray
and huddled up and doubled up we’ll sit
And laugh of times were hard
Laugh of times when we thought all of it would end
It all was over, then again
And though all that I know is this way
And to leave you out of life
Oh my friend…
It will be you until the end with me, always
Always…
Ah ah will, always
Yeah ah, yeah ah, yeah
Always

Leave a Reply

