Hardware


Hardware
Originally uploaded by Mac Girl.

This is my therapy. This photo, and all of the other 10,000 that I’ve taken since February 2006. Yes, you read that right, ten thousand photos in 10 months.

D and I have been really, really busy lately it seems, and not even so much with Christmas. We didn’t even put up a tree this year, choosing instead to throw the elaborate and beautiful tree skirt that his mother made us over the chest in the living room and pile our gifts on it. Behold, the first “Christmas altar”. Yeah.

But beyond that – even before Thanksgiving really, when all of the holiday craziness started – beyond that I haven’t made the time to go out alone and shoot photos. Five or six here and there when I had a few minutes, but nothing like yesterday when I had an hour or so alone wandering the streets and docks in Ludington. It was bliss.

I have three resolutions for 2007:

1. To do this more. To go out and shoot, and to go beyond my home turf more often. Doing so is surprising, enlightening, and calming. If there’s any such thing as Zen, then this is the closest that I get to it.

2. To clean my office. I have, literally, about 15 large boxes of stuff from Dad’s house clogging my office at home. Things that couldn’t be thrown away – personal letters, photos, movie reels, and important personal items like my grandfather’s journals and such. There may be filing cabinets involved. There may be file boxes involved. It will be a bitch and a task to go through it all and toss or catalog and store it, but it has to be done. I’ve been ignoring it since May when I finished the house and I can’t get from one side of the room to the other without moving boxes around to do so. I’ve made a good start today by cleaning out the riff-raff. Tomorrow the real work begins.

3. Improving my health. That includes eating healthier and using my YMCA membership more. More than once a month, that is. I’m shooting for 3 times a week and hoping to bump it to 5. We’ll see. We have an international trip coming up and I’ll be darned if I’m going to spend the whole two weeks eating carrot sticks and drinking water. Katie’s gonna intentionally fall off the wagon temporarily.

I’m just sayin’.

HAPPY NEW YEAR AND PEACE TO YOU ALL!
~Katie

One thought on “Hardware

  1. Kish

    You are so stinkin cute to read about :)> you have a way with words! Anyway, very good resolutions/goals. I too need to add some goals to my Blog. I have them in mind, just gotta put them on the computer :0). Let’s see this picture of the “altar”…

Leave a Reply

