Doing It With GUSTO!™

I know that a lot of you will be blind-sided by this revelation, but I think it’s only fair that you hear it from me… I’m a geek. Yes, I know, shocking, isn’t it? 🙂

I’m also a bit obsessive (I’m fairly sure you all knew that one… uh-oh, someone fainted in the back! Too many shocking revelations, I guess…)

*ahem*

So yeah, obsessive. Just a wee bit. Natch as soon as the idea of traveling to Wellington presented itself I was all over the Internet trying to find out more and looking for things to do! I had a TON of trip-related bookmarks floating around on my computer, then one day I came across Gusto!™ and I haven’t looked back. Gusto! is a site where you can bring it all together — bookmark places that you intend to go, upload photos of your trip during and after, and you can even keep a trip blog there. (I prefer to write some of my posts off-line using Ecto, so I did not use Gusto! for this trip blog.)

The really kicker though is something that they call the “Gusto! Grabber.” You just add their little grabber tool to your bookmarks bar (works with most browsers) and whenever you come across something interesting you just hit that bookmark link and PRESTO! you get a pop-up window. Ok, that’s not the cool part. Wait for it…. wait for it… the Gusto! Grabber will create a Gusto! bookmark for the site, suck any image of your choice off of the page you’re viewing (this really helps jog your memory later), write little notes about why you want to go there, categorize it (eateries, lodging, LotR movie locations, etc.) and save it to Gusto!

I have a large-ish set of bookmarks HERE. These aren’t all places that we’re definitely going – we don’t have very much actually planned out for the trip – but it’s a good place for me to go for a little personalized inspiration when we’re looking for somewhere to go that day.

As of this writing, Gusto! still needs work. The blog system is a little wonky, and the photo organization is… well… you should probably use Flickr instead, let’s put it that way. But the Gusto! Grabber is definitely a winner. Bookmarks on steroids!

3 days, 9 hours, 11 minutes to go….

~Katie

2 thoughts on “Doing It With GUSTO!™

Leave a Reply

