h1

Fizzy Lifting Drinks

March 4, 2007


Fizzy Lifting Drinks
Originally uploaded by Mac Girl.

I know that I’ve sort of abandoned the blog. That’s no ones fault by my own. By the middle of our trip I realized that I was spending far too much time messing about with my photos and not enough time relaxing, and that’s bad. So I put the photos and the blog on hold. But now we’re back and I have time… finally! Stay tuned, there’s more to come.

We now return you to your regularly-scheduled travel blog…..

One of the [many, many] things that I love about New Zealand is their choice of beverage. Everywhere we went Coke was on the menu. I think we saw a few Pepsi bottles once and by then it shocked us a bit. We hadn’t seen Pepsi in days by then and the blue bottles stuck out like a sore thumb.

This explains why, when the stewardess on the Air New Zealand plane that took us from Sydney to Wellington asked what I wanted to drink and I said “Pop, please!” she gave me the blankest look that I’ve seen in a long time. It’s “Coke.” That’s all. That’s what you ask for. “Coke” means “pop” because its often the only cola on the menu, and that’s true almost everywhere.

I couldn’t be happier! I had litres of it while I was there, and got lots of photos of my favorite beverage in bottles, in glasses, and on signs.

Bliss!

Leave a Reply

