h1

Looking Forward

June 5, 2007


B Side
Originally uploaded by Mac Girl.

I’ve been a slacker around here of late. Putting all of my time in with nephew’s soccer games, work, GRAMUG stuff, and WaddaYaGot.

I entered some pics in the local art festival this year and all four were rejected. Not a huge surprise as I’m new to this whole competition thing and didn’t really know what I was doing. I felt better about it after this weekend when The Man and I stopped at the old Art Museum to see the accepted entries.

It wasn’t so much of a “Hey, my shots were better than THAT!” thing – because in 95% of the cases I was absotively blown away by what I saw there. No, what made me feel better and gave me closure was the note that the judge left displayed next to the exhibit. He went into great detail about the general things that turned him away from pieces that otherwise would have made the cut. Things like matting and framing quality, image quality, print quality, etc.

Now I KNOW that my print quality was excellent. ProLab Express has never let me down, they do amazing work and they make my stuff look stunning. No, I’m convinced that it was the matting and framing. I did all of the work myself (with The Man’s generous help) using off-the-shelf goods. They looked nice enough for a wall in a home, but they weren’t what I would call “competition grade” jobs. They didn’t hold a candle to the mat and frame work that I saw in the exhibit.

Next year I’ll know better….

Leave a Reply

