New Year, New Rules!

I hope you all had a safe and fun New Year’s Eve!

And by “safe and fun” I simply mean that you had a blast and no one was injured. Beyond that, I don’t want to know. 🙂

But now it’s Tuesday, January 1, 2008. What to do?

Tradition requires that we resolve to make changes – hopefully for the better – in the new year. There only has to be one, and it doesn’t have to be big. Resolving to do something simple like cracking a genuinely friendly smile every time the mail man hands you a big wad of bills is every bit as noble a cause as resolving to lose 50 pounds and run a marathon… and quite a bit safer! Your mailman will like it too!

There are three areas of my life that I want to concentrate on this year, resolution-wise. Personal life, work life, and photography.

Photography is a no-brainer this year. I’m a regular reader of Photojojo and they’ve been kind enough to list my resolutions for me in today’s article 19 New Year’s Photo Resolutions — Goodbye 2007, Hello Two Thousand and Awesome! I’m not resolving to do ALL of these things, of course. I’m only human. That said, the 365 thing dovetails nicely with the new GRCC 365 Day Challenge group that I’ve just joined. That will help with the “practice, practice, practice” resolution as well – I know I’ll be clicking the shutter at least 366 times this year. I want to learn more too, but I can’t get into classes until I get a job… which brings me to my Professional resolutions…

Professional resolutions: 1. Get a job! 🙂

Personally? I’ve been toying with the idea of reading a book per month for some time now. I know that doesn’t sound like a lot, but I go through great empty expanses of time where I don’t read (books) because I let other things get in the way. I resolve to take the time this year. To paraphrase Heinlein: have library card, will read!  (Right, Jim?)

This Is Your Brain On Books

That’s it.  It doesn’t seem like much written down, but it’s not going to be easy.  After all, we don’t face every day with the rampant optimism that pours from our souls on New Year’s Day, do we?

Ok, your turn.  What do you resolve?  Or don’t you resolve at all?  How about this – just resolve to leave a comment to this post…  🙂

3 thoughts on “New Year, New Rules!

  1. You’re going to do great things this year Katie 🙂
    I really really like the idea on Photojojo to take 20 pictures of each color of the rainbow…that would be a good project. I may have to start that one 🙂

Leave a Reply

