h1

Of Pleasant Surprises

February 14, 2008

Silent Observer
Originally uploaded by Mac Girl

The Man had a teleconference meeting this afternoon/evening (I should be a poet!) so I decided to go out and stretch my legs before our big V-Day date. I ended up driving over to Ken-O-Sha park which is only about 5 min. from our house.

I haven’t been there since I was a little girl, and I keep meaning to take the camera over but I never remember it when I have time. Yeah, we’ve lived here 13 years now, it’s 5 minutes away, and I haven’t gone! Sad, isn’t it?

Anyway, the trail is about 1.2 miles long and I wore my old boots because I wasn’t sure how clear the trail was.

Funny thing about those old boots— I forgot that the right boot is broken on the inside heel. I had my woolies on so I didn’t notice it rubbing my heel until I literally got to the other end of the trail.

1.2 miles from the car.

Damn.

So I favored it on the way back and stopped often. At one point it felt so bad that I sat down on one of the less-snowy park benches and tried to adjust my wool sock to relieve the pain a bit — I still had about a half mile to go!

I sat there quietly for about 5 minutes, and when I stood up I heard a noise behind me. Lo and behold, three deer were standing there staring at me like I was an alien from another planet. I managed to get only one shot off before they decided I was a threat (Who? ME??) and took off into the woods.

I’m home now, the boots are in the trash, I have a large bandage wrapped across the back of my heel and a bloody wool sock to show for it.

But you know what? It was almost worth it for the encounter with the deer.

One comment

  1. That must have been a long conference call! It’s wonderful that you were able to make the walk and pain worth the trip!



Leave a Reply

