Labor Day Food Fest

Doneness, originally uploaded by Mac Girl.

My upcoming holiday weekend is shaping up to be all about food.

This is not a bad thing.

Miss Mary has been too overwhelmed by Life this year to put up some sweet corn for winter, so Saturday morning will see me standing at the back of Farmer Post’s truck purchasing many, many ears of corn to cut and freeze for her. (I’ve been working on my own stash slow and steady for about a month, and will have plenty to get The Man and I through a sub-zero February.) Thankfully the weather is supposed to be perfect for puttin’ up – 68°F with a breeze – so that should be a fairly simple, if time consuming task for Saturday.

The other food goal this weekend is ribs. I haven’t done them this year. Not once. I think there’s a law – not sure if it’s state or Federal – that if you have the skills and equipment you are required to BBQ a slab or ribs or two at some point between Memorial Day and Labor Day. I’m going to squeak in just under the wire with a slab, some of that Farmer Post corn, and some jacket potatoes on Monday afternoon.

I promise to post photos if I can manage to put down the fork long enough to grab a camera.

If you’ve ever had home cooked ribs, you know that’s going to be a challenge…

Leave a Reply

